Solvonauts offers over 65,000 CC licensed resources in picture, video and audio formats.
Creative Commons Perth Street Art by Louanne McFarlane
is licensed under CC 4.0
The main Creative Commons licences:
CC BY (Attribution): This license allows others to copy, distribute, display, and perform the work and derivative works based upon it, but only if they give the author or licensor the credits in the manner specified by these. This is the most flexible CC license.
CC BY-SA (Attribution-ShareAlike): This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon the work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit the creator and license their new creations under the identical terms. This license is often compared to open source software licenses.
CC BY-ND (Attribution-NoDerivs): This license allows for redistribution, commercial and non-commercial, as long as the work is passed along unchanged and in whole, with credit to the author.
CC BY-NC (Attribution-NonCommercial): This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon the work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge the author and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
CC BY-NC-SA (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike): This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon the work non-commercially, as long as they credit the creator and license their new creations under the identical terms.
CC BY-NC-ND (Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs): This license is the most restrictive of the six main licenses, allowing others to download the works and share them with others as long as they credit the author, but they can’t change them in any way or use them commercially.
Openverse is an open-source search engine for open content. It searches CC licensed and public domain content from dozens of different sources. Openverse was previously the CC Search function on the Creative Commons website.
Bugwood Image Database System has collections of openly licensed images relating to ecosystem health including forestry, invasive species, insects and weeds.
Creativity103 is a library of free abstract backgrounds, textures and design ideas.
CSIRO’s Science Image site contains over 4000 science and nature images that are free to download under the Creative commons license.
Encyclopedia of Life offers over 2.9 million images depicting life on Earth.
Europeana contains digital resources of Europe’s museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections including paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects.
Flickr has over 300 million CC licensed high quality images.
LibreStock is a search tool that explores a range of openly licensed image libraries.
Open Clip Art Library offers over 67,000 public domain images also allowing for requests.
Openphoto is a moderated photo community with over 3000 CC licensed photos in different categories.
Pexels offers photos licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) licence. This means the pictures are completely free to be used for any legal purpose. You may modify, copy and distribute the photos without seeking permission or setting a link to the source. Attribution is not required.
The Stocks offer high quality free photos. Additionally, all Creative Commons and Public Domain photos from sources like Flickr are made available and it is possible to embed them directly from their website.
StockSnap – a popular website with 40,000+ free stock photos released under Creative Commons CC0.
Stock Up offers 13,762 free photos across 27 websites. Each photo will show the license when you hover over it. All photos are either Creative Commons Zero or public domain.
The Wellcome Institute holds a range of unique visual and historical collections such as biomedical science and ancient manuscripts. It has released 100,000 high-resolution medical images available under a CC-BY licence and all low-resolution images on the site are openly licensed.
https://smartcopying.edu.au/where-to-find-cc-licensed-material/
